A conclusion?

When I started blogging on the subject of excessive computer gaming, my assumption was that while some people seem to spend a great deal of time on gaming, often to the detriment of social life, education and work, this wouldn’t really apply as an addiction per se. Some of the initial evidence which I examined seemed to support my hypothesis, many of the case studies presented seemed to have social issues unrelated to gaming and were using gaming as an escapist retreat. Now that I’ve looked at the brain states generated by gaming such as flow state and the dopamine response, my ideas have had to be modified. I am now convinced that, while video game addiction has not been in the DSM manual for mental health conditions, if it looks, acts and smells like an addiction then it should be treated in that way. I must admit I was surprised by my findings but we have to follow the evidence!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

